So last week, I set a goal: For that entire week, I was not to go near fast food. That meant no greasy hamburgers, no runs for the border, no goldeny-delicious fries, no crispy chicken nuggets…

And you know what? I kept that goal.

So I found myself wanting to try a new dietary goal this week: During this work week (and most of yesterday), I am not going to eat meat.

Not that I’m doing it for morality’s sake. Au contraire, folks. (You should know by now that I’m a selfish thing, although knowing my veggie burger saved a cow or something would be kinda gratifying.) I’m doing it to see if replacing meat-protein with healthier alternatives (soy protein) will help me shed a bit extra weight. For instance, I bought some Morningstar veggie burgers and veggie buffalo wings, and that veggie burger was darn good. Spruced it all up with spring mix lettuce and onion and a little cheddar… Well, anyway, time will tell – or at least the scale will tell, come Friday when I step on and hope for the best.

Confession: I do weigh myself once a week. I’m allllmost where I want to be, physically, but there’s just a few more things I need to tweak. And not in the Regina George “I really want to lose three pounds” way.