Hey hey, my clamoring blogfans. (Or, more appropriately: Hi, Mom!)

It’s funny, you know: I absolutely love writing. I really do. Painting pictures with words is the only way I know how to make art. And yet… I let this blog fall by the wayside.

And you know what I blame for it? My 2010 New Year’s Resolution: to journal once a day in a tidy little Moleskine book that was just quirky enough to be red instead of the usual black. That little red book? Presently the bane of my existence. Writing is a daily chore for me now (“ungh, I have to write yet another page of how I sat at a desk until 5:00, went home, made dinner, showered, and went to bed”), and doggone it, I don’t like it.

Psst: Here’s a secret for you – I don’t journal in it every day. I’m more of a weekly kind of girl these days. But still. It’s a chore in the worst way. Fortunately, I’m nearing the end of those alluringly lined blank pages (a blank page in a tidy notebook is pretty much my Kryptonite, by the way – must… write… on… crisp… new… page…), so I’ll break free of it all pretty soon. In the meantime, I’ll be laboring through my mundane daily activities and chronicling them in that Moleskine abomination.

Not that all of my daily activities are mundane, mind you. There are quite a few that are Not So Very Mundane At All:

I travel sometimes. David’s first love has been and maybe will always be charting the uncharted, geographically speaking. And I love David. Therefore, by transitive property, I love traveling. We’ve gone to Chattanooga (yes, I saw the choo-choo), meandered about the Eastern Shore of Virginia, and even went to London, just to name a few. We’ll also be going to San Francisco next month to visit his family – we’ve never rocked the west coast before. And through it all, I’ve learned that I, too, love to travel and discover new places. Life is downright boring without it.

Zumba is fun. I’ve lost about 25 pounds in the past 12 months (small achievement for some, but just right for me). That’s been due largely in part to (a) eating my fruits and veggies, (b) laying off the Wendy’s, (c) eating Fiber One bars like they’re going out of style, and (d) shaking my groove thing in Zumba. If you haven’t tried it, you need to. You burn an obscene amount of calories, and it’s fun. There was a period of a few months where I went to the class held every Monday at my rec center, and now I’ve been slacking. I did buy a punch card to start classes up again, and I fully plan to do so starting this Monday.

Also, I’m getting married. I can’t imagine this will be the first time that anyone reading this blog has found that out, but yes – David and I are getting married! He proposed to me in May, and we’re tying the knot in March. Despite the fact that the wedding is now a daunting 6 months away, I’m remarkably calm. You know why? Because I’m going to be marrying the love of my life, my best friend, my traveling buddy, my shoulder to cry on, my everything. If anything, that makes me only more anxious to get married. But this wedding’s going to be lovely – the theme is slightly Jane Austen. We’ve got our venue, our photographer, ordered my gown, bought my shoes, booked the salon, and in process of booking music. Things are coming together, but I suppose I might have been a smidge distracted from the blogosphere as a result of wedding-planning.

That’s life at present, and it’s great.